A draft clinical note is a note you have started but not saved as the final version. Drafts are available when the multiple notes setup is used, if enabled in your system.
Note: Draft clinical notes are not yet available on the new consultation page. If you want to save a clinical note as a draft, switch to the old version from the top of the consultation page.
Save a Clinical Note as a Draft
The text you type in a clinical note is auto-saved as a draft. Before you can add a new note, you must save the open note.
To keep the note as a draft, select Save as Draft.
To save the note as the final version, select the check mark button.
To delete the note before saving, select the X button.
By default, the clinical note is saved with the current date and time. You can also select a different date and time manually. If you have the required permissions to edit clinical notes after the consultation has been finalized, you can change the date and time later, for example, to match the consultation date and time if you finish your notes afterwards.
Draft Notes in Patient History and Summary Emails
Depending on the settings, draft clinical notes can be shown in the patient history. Drafts can also be included in the patient history attachment of the consultation summary email. See Clinical Notes Settings, Clinical Note Types, and Clinical Note Templates.
Finalize an Invoice That Has Draft Notes
Depending on the settings, it may not be possible to finalize a consultation invoice if the consultation has clinical notes in the draft state.
If finalizing with draft clinical notes is allowed, an automatic task can be created so that the drafts are not forgotten. The task is assigned to the user who added the note, the active user, or the supervising veterinarian. See Clinical Notes Settings, Clinical Note Types, and Clinical Note Templates.
See Also
Clinical Notes Overview and Basic Functions
Write a Single Clinical Note Per Patient in One Consultation
Write Multiple Clinical Notes Per Patient in One Consultation
Conflicts with Multiple Simultaneous Users
Clinical Note Approval Workflow
Can I edit or delete clinical notes and discharge instructions on finalised consultations?
Clinical Notes Settings, Clinical Note Types, and Clinical Note Templates
