Discharge instructions can be used to communicate follow-up information and instructions to clients. You can add discharge instructions in the Discharge instructions section of the consultation page. Select Add discharge instruction to open the field:
You can type directly in the field or use a template if templates are available by selecting Add template. To copy other data from the consultation page, such as clinical notes or treatment item information, select the options from the Bring data drop-down menu. Text is auto-saved in the field. Saved is shown in the toolbar when your text has been saved. Above the field, you can see who created the discharge instructions and when, or who made the last edit and when. To see all edits, select the name and time above the field. To see earlier versions of the text, select Open version history.
If you want to include attachments in the discharge instructions email or printout (for example, the full patient history), select Attachments, then select the files. The attached files are shown below the field. To remove a file, select the x next to it.
Note: The Hide client details on email and printout option is not yet available on the new consultation page. If you do not want to include client details in the discharge instructions email or printout, switch to the old version from the top of the consultation page and select the Hide client details on email and printout checkbox. Only the patient's name will then be included.
Generate AI Discharge Instructions
If enabled, you can create an AI-generated summary of your consultation, which can then be added to the discharge instructions. Select Generate with AI in the toolbar above the field. Review the summary, then select Insert to add it to the discharge instructions or Cancel to discard it. For more information, see Generate an AI Summary for Discharge Instructions.
Discharge Instructions in Multi-Patient Consultations
Note: Multi-patient consultations are not yet available on the new consultation page. To use them, switch to the old version from the top of the consultation page.
When you have more than one patient in a consultation, you can write common discharge instructions for all patients or separate instructions for each patient.
In multi-patient consultations, the All patients field is shown by default under Discharge instructions. Writing in this field adds the same discharge instructions for all patients in the consultation.
To write separate discharge instructions for different patients, select a patient from the Select patient drop-down list in the right-hand side sidebar. Another discharge instructions field opens for the selected patient.
Each discharge instructions field in a multi-patient consultation has its own edit log which you can open from the link below the field.
